Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Oil Review

Today I am going to be bringing you this brand spanking new primer oil that has been brought onto the beauty market by SmashboxPhoto Finish Primer Oil is a 50% primer and 50% oil. 

How to use Photo Finish Primer Oil?

To apply this primer simply warm up the oil, massage two small drops of primer oil onto clean skin with your fingers. Allow your skin to absorb the oil before applying your makeup. I like to take a moment and also take a deep breath and inhale some oil’s scents, it really relaxes me!

What does Promer Oil look like?

This primer oil comes in a glass bottle with a black pipet lid. It’s a small and sleek bottle, allowing it to sit amongst the most stylish of beauty products. To access the priming oil simply push down on the top of the lid; the pipet draws up the product allowing you to easily access the product.

What do I like about Photo Finish Primer Oil?

I’m not going to lie, when I first heard about the product, I was a little worried about how an oil based product was going to be a good primer and not make my makeup break. In my mind, oils can easily break the foundation, because oil based products I normally use to remove my makeup. After trying this primer oil I can honestly say that this is not the case. For some reason, the oil in the primer really does not make your skin more oily. It simply hydrates your skin making it look smoother and lines refined. I found this primer evened up my skin tone texture and my makeup glided onto my skin and looked seamless and flawless, my pores looked smaller. What more could a girl ask for!

This product really does have to be one of my go-to primers. There are a few new primers coming onto the market at the moment but the innovative creation of adding oil to a primer to create a product that leaves your skin looking and feeling this amazing is really something special.

*Tip: add to concealer to add a hint or moisture and away you go with a lighter fresher coverage. Photo Finish Primer Oil is perfect for people with troubled skin who doesn’t want to wear a lot of makeup.

What do I not like about Photo Finish Primer Oil?

The one negative point I can think of about this product is that you need to be sparingly when applying the oil. You really don’t need a lot, as this can be difficult for your skin to absorb. Keep away from your hairline as this can make your hair look greasy and oily. So, if you avoid applying too many products and be careful with getting too close to a hairline, you saved.

amazing skin results with primer oil

Where can you get Photo Finish Primer Oil?

You can purchase the Photo Finish Primer Oil, £28 from any Smashbox kiosks at Boots, Selfridges, Harrods… or online!

I hope you liked my review and had found it useful. Make sure to check my Artdeco Spring 2016 limited edition make-up collection review!

Never miss a post, follow me on Bloglovin. Just press a + button bellow!

Follow

Yuliya at Yukova Blog x | Instagram, Snapchat, Twitter, and Facebook @yukovadesign

Follow:

39 Comments

  1. 23rd February 2016 / 1:43 pm

    I am always a little skeptical about oil based products for my skin since I break out easily. However, it is enticing that it can hydrate your skin as well!

    http://www.rdsobsessions.com

  2. 23rd February 2016 / 2:19 pm

    I seriously am obsessed with this! I just posted about it this morning- it came in my Ipsy bag this month! I have super dry skin and this is a lifesaver!

    Mary Kate
    http://www.mynewchicagolife.com

  3. Amy Ann
    23rd February 2016 / 3:48 pm

    I had never even heard of iol based primers. Sounds cool!

    Amy Ann
    Straight A Style

  4. 23rd February 2016 / 5:06 pm

    I’ve never heard of this product, it sounds wonderful! I love the idea of an oil primer because I would typically apply my face oil with my moisturizer and then apply my makeup, so this would be one less step in the morning! Perhaps it’s formulated with other ingredients that work with the oil to prevent it from breaking down the formula in the foundation, allowing it to last long. Thanks so much for sharing, I’ll definitely look into it the next time I’m at Ulta! I hope you have a wonderful day, beauty!

    XO,

    Jalisa
    http://www.thestylecontour.com

  5. 23rd February 2016 / 5:57 pm

    Sounds like a great product. We don’t get Smashbox in India, or atleast I haven’t seen one yet but I’ve heard so much about this brand to know this is one amazing product!
    Love,
    Nilu Yuleena Thapa
    BIG hair LOUD mouth

  6. 23rd February 2016 / 7:46 pm

    I thought too that a primer oil would make skin look oily but I will definitely take your advice and start using one! I am really curious to see the difference on the make-up result 🙂
    Stella
    http://www.stellaasteria.com

  7. Jessica
    24th February 2016 / 2:53 am

    I’m really skeptical about this. I mean it’s oil. But after reading your review I’ll give this a whirl and check it out for myself. Thanks 🙂

    http://notjessfashion.com/nyfw-part1/

  8. 24th February 2016 / 11:19 am

    An interesting new product – i like overnight oils for my skin so the idea of one mixed with a primer seems like a great idea. Need to head to Selfridges and take a look for myself. Thanks for the review x
    http://www.theglitterfashionista.blogspot.com

  9. 26th February 2016 / 1:21 am

    This is so lovely! You’ve got great skin by the way. I’ll have to check into this product.

  10. 26th February 2016 / 5:52 am

    Greatttttt review! I was a little apprehensive about an oil base primer myself, but after reading your review I just may give it a try. I already love Smashbox’s Photo Finish Oil Free Primer

  11. Emmanuelle
    26th February 2016 / 9:38 pm

    I don’t know a lot about make-up, but this product loks great 🙂

  12. 29th February 2016 / 12:04 pm

    I love facial oils. Smash box photo finish oil primer sounds good but I don’t know if I would be brave enough to use it. Only because my skin gets already so oily with the foundation 🙁
    Great post by the way <3

  13. 29th February 2016 / 6:44 pm

    I have never used a primer oil before. But this sounds like a great product, I wonder if it would work well on a combination skin…

    http://delainemyles.com

    • 29th February 2016 / 6:55 pm

      Hi, Delaine!
      Well it doesn’t mention on the bottle what skin is it for. I assume it’s good for all skin types. In the beginning of the spring every girls’ skin needs moisturising and vitamins, so I’d recommend to give it a go! Also, I’ve heart that girls with oily skin have to use oil to balance there skin…

  14. 1st March 2016 / 11:49 pm

    Great post!!

  15. 2nd March 2016 / 11:50 pm

    I have been wanting to try this primer. My skin is dry so I think it might work for me. Good review.

    Hope to see you at avalonandkelly.com

  16. Pingback: Fendi Resort 2016 - Yukova Blog | London. UK
  17. 13th May 2016 / 5:40 pm

    Such a fabulous post, I look forward to your next 🙂 I need to purchase from smash-box as I have never tried any products from this brand at all even though I have heard about them for far too long haha.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *